2011 lessons (part 1)

These are in no particular order:

1. Family is vital

Not that I didn’t know this already but it was further affirmed this year when my friend’s mother passed away, it was the saddest news that I received at 4am this year. It made me grateful that my parents are alive and healthy and so were my brothers. It is especially around this time of the year (Christmas) that we are reminded of how precious family is.

2. Apple products are bauss!

I bought the MacBook Air and got the iPod touch as a gift this year and I cannot imagine life without them. Steve Jobs created products that we didn’t even know we needed, he made them a necessary part of our lives, created a brand that people admire and products we aspire to own.

3. Steve Jobs, a great Innovator in my time

I feel so blessed to have lived in the same lifetime as Steve Jobs, to have witnessed his wonderful innovations whilst he was still alive. He created amazing products simply because he honed on his passion and did what he loved. I have watched and listened to his Stanford Commencement speech on YouTube more times than I can count and the simplicity of doing what you love still amazes me. The hard part is finding what you love to which Steve advises you to carry on searching until you do.  He left a large footprint in the sands of time and inspired me to be great.

4. Love, Success & Happiness

I was brought up to believe that being successful in the corporate world is the ultimate success you can achieve in your career. This year I discovered that this was not necessarily true and that success was not a monetary measure, it’s based on your potential and what makes you happy.  I just want to do what I love, which will yield success and lead to happiness.

5. Traditional Wedding ceremonies are a colossal waste of money

The rules and rituals were devised in the times of Shaka and because they are not evolving with the modern-day lifestyle they can lead to a lot of frustration for young couples who just want to get married. I understand the purpose of the processes and am not against them being practiced, I just believe that they need to evolve to accommodate the current times and not amount to a get-rich-quick scheme for certain people and result in debt for the newly-wed couple. Until this happens, these traditional ceremonies have become colossal waste of money.