my LCA experience

My friend Lungi is having umemebeso at the end of this month and two weeks ago I realised that I had nothing to wear and I say that because other than the dress I had made for my ngqibamasondo I do not own any traditional wear items. So I decided that this would be the perfect opportunity to buy something from Loin Cloth and Ashes. So I googled LCA and discovered they had a website and were on Facebook, so I went to their Facebook page and checked in their photos for items that I would like and I was sold. I called Anisa the next day, her number is on the Facebook page and told her I was coming to her studios on Wednesday (last week Wednesday actually). Her studio is based in Arts on Main and she also told me that they will be opening a store downstairs quite soon.

When I got there, there were clothes everywhere and she said I could have a browse and choose whatever I want to fit on. I found 5 items that I liked and started with the fittings, it eventually came down to two dresses, one was a boob tube A-line dress and the other was a cute baby doll also A-line. As I was fitting them on Anisa gave me tips on how I could style the dresses, like what colours for shoes and accessories would work with the prints and I was really impressed by her feedback, she’s so awesome! Seeing  as I couldn’t choose, I ended up taking both dresses and her prices are really reasonable, each dress was R800 (when my husband reads this blog post he will freak out because he didn’t want to know how much they cost!). I can’t take pics of the dresses for the blog because I am still going to wear them, I just posted the one above to show you the print. Below are also some pictures of Anisa’s other work, I told her that I will be back soon for skirts :)

you’re the VOICE

I saw this music video on Live on Friday  and not only did I love the song but it’s also in aid of a good cause. Shout SA is a campaign that is against crime and for a safer South Africa. The famous faces behind this campaign are Danny K and Kabelo Mabalane. The music video features so many famous faces like HHP, Bonang, Gail Nkoane, AKA, Khuli Chana, Nhlanhla Nciza, Judith Sephuma, Drakensberg Boys Choir, Tumisho Masha, Hugh Masekela, Arno Carstens, PJ Powers, Kurt Darren etc. The lyrics of the chorus also encourage everyone to stand up and make a difference “You’re the voice, try and understand it, make a noise and make it clear, we’re not going to sit in silence, we’re not going to live in fear!”.

I am sure we have all experienced crime in some form or another or know someone very close to us who has. You can make your Voice heard by smsing “Voice” to 49300 to donate R20 and receive the song.

LCA at MBJFW

I have recently discovered the clothing label Loin Cloth & Ashes (LCA) by Anisa Mpungwe, I read a feature on Anisa in the Destiny Magazine and the Elle Magazine and fell in love with her prints. I heard that she would be showing at Mercedes-Benz Joburg Fashion and I desperately wanted to go only to discover that it was clashing with the Usher concert and as you know, I went to Usher instead, the tickets were already bought. I just wanted to share pictures from her ALMA collection that she showcased.